Skip to Content

RTA News & Information


In late 2012, the Michigan Legislature created the Regional Transit Authority (RTA) in Southeastern Michigan through Public Act 387.  The RTA includes all of Wayne, Oakland, Macomb and Washtenaw Counties and has been charged with coordinating regional services and developing rapid transit along Woodward, Gratiot and Michigan Avenue corridors. 

SMART's Board and staff work closely with RTA Board members and staff on reporting, planning studies and through the Regional Master Plan process.  SMART also participates in the RTA Providers Advisory Council (PAC) and the RTA Planning and Service Coordination Committee.  The PAC membership includes staff representatives from the Detroit Department of Transportation (DDOT), Detroit People Mover and Ann Arbor Area Transit Authority (AAATA).  In addition, SMART continues to work with community members to maintain and build excellent transit service for Southeastern Michigan.

The RTA website can be found here.

How does the RTA impact SMART?

The Suburban Mobility Authority for Regional Transit (SMART) has built a network of bus services through the consistent support of voters and local communities within our service area. The Authority operates as a separate entity, now included under the umbrella of the RTA. The local providers, including SMART, DDOT, and AAATA, are the backbone to the RTA’s regional transit master plan.  Full buildout and sustained implementation of the improvements in the proposed RTA plan depends heavily on the continued local funding and operations of all the existing transit providers.

The funds generated by SMART's local millages remain under full control of its Board of Directors. Regardless of the outcome of the November 8th RTA ballot initiative (successful passage or not), SMART’s current millage will remain in effect and will be up for renewal in 2018.

Check out and review the RTA Master Plan to see how it will benefit you.

Who represents the SMART Service Area?

The ten member RTA board consists of two representatives appointed by each county, one representative appointed by the mayor of Detroit and one non-voting chair appointed by the Governor. 

Click here for RTA Board of Directors.